18 Pounds of Fruit and a New Camera

Peaches, nectarines and apples, oh my!

Peaches, nectarines and apples, oh my! Check out the harvest from Highland Orchards in West Chester, PA.

I recently upgraded my point-and-shoot camera to a Canon dSLR, and I’m very excited to learn how to use it. I enlisted my son, Andrew (a journalist/photographer who knows his way around cameras so well that his photos have been published on several news sites), to help me figure out all the settings so I can improve my blog photos.

Here's my new baby.

Here’s my new baby.

We took a quick trip to Highland Orchards (http://www.highlandorchards.net/HOInc/Welcome.html), a local pick-your-own farm/market that grows a plethora of fruit from mid-May through mid-September. On this day, there were white and yellow peaches, Ginger Gold apples, and nectarines. All good subjects for me to practice shooting pictures. Of course, as long as we were there, we registered to pick some fruit, too.

First stop was the field with nectarines, then on to the peaches; we saved the apples for last (we both love apples). Andrew showed me how to adjust for depth of field (something I couldn’t do on my point-and-shoot) and the fruit were willing subjects. They posed on trees, on the ground, in our hands, and in the containers. They were very cooperative.

Nectarines

Nectarines

Yellow peaches

Yellow peaches

Ginger Gold apples are typically one of the first of the fall apples to harvest.

Ginger Gold apples are typically one of the first of the fall apples to harvest.

Several hours later, we returned to the market and estimated that we picked about 8 or 10 pounds of fruit. Our weigh-in was surprising: we walked out with 18 pounds of beautiful, ripe fruit. And, hopefully, some better photos on this blog (you can let me know).

After we took stock of our fruit (and finally got to eat some), we took a look at my photos. I had about 50 or so pictures, some pretty good, others so-so. But thanks to Andrew’s expertise, I’m more comfortable with the camera settings and excited to share my photos with you.

Here are some other photos I took.

Pretty white peach

Pretty white peach

Funky peaches (on the vine way too long)

Funky peaches (on the vine way too long)

Andrew, picking some fine Ginger Golds

Andrew, picking some fine Ginger Golds

Nothing but the pit

Nothing but the pit

As for the fruit, Andrew got first pick, I gave his brother and sister an assortment and kept some for my husband and I to enjoy. I’ll let you know what we do with the bounty in an upcoming post.

Have you been to a pick-your-own orchard this summer? If so, please share where you went and what you picked.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Any thoughts?

White on Rice Couple

Food Photography, Recipes, Los Angeles Food Photographers

Leite's Culinaria

Recipes, Food, and Cooking Blog

Cooking Classy

with a sprinkle of fancy

David Lebovitz

Paris based chef baking and writing cookbooks

