Best Bite of the Week: Spicy Tuna Rolls

Lunch special at Kumo: spicy tuna and shrimp tempura rolls

Lunch special: Spicy tuna and shrimp tempura rolls at Kumo

I’m of the opinion that people who love food love to tell other people who love food all about the great food they just ate. I enjoy hearing all the details about a zippy tuna tartare or tart key lime pie or rich braised short ribs. And, frankly, I like sharing my stories, too. So here’s the not-overly-long story about the amazing spicy tuna rolls at my favorite sushi place.

I finished up a freelance editing job earlier this week, and was hungry, of course, since it was almost 2 p.m. and I hadn’t brought anything for lunch. I’d been craving sushi for a couple of weeks, and realized it was a short drive to Kumo (www.kumopa.com) in Collegeville. I hoped I hadn’t missed the lunch service. My luck prevailed, and I got a table near the sushi bar.

My order doesn’t usually change: a three-roll lunch special with two spicy tuna rolls and a shrimp tempura roll; miso soup and a salad round out the meal. I finish the soup, and pick at the salad – but all I really want is the sushi. As expected, it looks lovely. One reason I eat here is because the food always looks magazine-perfect, never a grain of rice out of place. Of course, the main reasons are because the fish is incredibly fresh and the chefs take care with the ingredients and preparation.

Alas, my stomach is telling me to stop admiring the plate and start eating. There’s a blend of fish and spicy sauce each piece, and the deep red tuna contrasts well with the orange sauce. The nori adds a little crunch. Each bite is fresh and light, but bold and flavorful; a slice of pickled ginger and little wasabi add a bright tang.

I eat a few pieces of tuna and turn to the tempura. The texture of the tempura roll balances well with the tuna. Encased in a lightly fried batter, the shrimp is surrounded by julienned cucumber and shredded lettuce. It’s a big, crunchy bite, and I can’t keep the whole piece together in the chopsticks. I fumble a little, trying not to look awkward (a disadvantage of sitting near the sushi chefs). Clearly, I need to work on this a little more.

Kumo's sushi bar

Kumo’s sushi bar

In typical methodical fashion, I finish the shrimp first and leave one piece of spicy tuna to end the meal.

If you ate something this week that was a “best bite” for you, I’d like to hear about it!

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Any thoughts?

White on Rice Couple

Food Photography, Recipes, Los Angeles Food Photographers

smitten kitchen

Fearless cooking from a tiny NYC kitchen.

Leite's Culinaria

Recipes, Food, and Cooking Blog

Cooking Classy

with a sprinkle of fancy

David Lebovitz

Paris based chef baking and writing cookbooks

